Retropute.com is UP!

I just put the first version of Retropute.com on the web.  This is just the first iteration of Retropute.com and since the whole reason for the website is to support my games, and I only have one game, and that game is not as of yet available, the site may seem a bit austere.  You can however download the Grave Robber (the first Retropute game) manual and get a feel for what the game has to offer. I also put a couple links to my favorite C64 sites, because I’m a big time C64 fan.  I will add a lot more links to other 8bit inspired sites, not all of them specific to the C64.  Speaking of the C64, I designed the homepage of Retropute.com to resemble good old Quatumlink, that would later be known as AOL. Although I had a C64 as a tween and teen, and Quatumlink was available, I could not convince my parents to spring for a modem and would likely not have been able to afford to actually do anything online anyhow.  A friend of mine at the time, who did have a modem, managed to download a great many pirated games off of bulletin board systems (bbs) and we enjoyed killer games like Tracy Lords Strip Poker, and Captain Blood until his parents got a 900+ dollar phone bill, and shut that fun down for good.  That was around 1988, and only six years later I had a Macintosh 520c with an external 14.4 modem and was able to join an internet service provider called Netcom for about $20 a month for unlimited access.  It was a text only account and I had to use a VT100 terminal emulator to access the internet, but I was in hog heaven anyhow.  It’s so amazingly different today with iPhones, wifi, streaming movies, and all kinds of other crap that I wanted to create something on the super simple side as a tribute or time machine or whatever you want to call it that would serve as a portal back to what I consider the good old days.  It’s not that I don’t love the incredible technology we have now, but it’s just that I still remember this feeling I would get looking at a black screen with colored text and simple 8 bit graphics. It was a feeling of wonder, excitement, and possibility that I just don’t get with today’s technology.  I think it’s because the technology of today leaves nothing to the imagination.  In some of my favorite games I was a stick figure in a world with stick figure monsters and my imagination filled in the gaps.  My imagination is way more vivid than even the best graphics today, Anyhow, here’s a picture of the Retropute.com homepage.  Check out the site if you get a chance.

www.retropute.com

retroputeWebHomeImage-01

Leave a Reply

