And the gods created Retropute.

I shouldn’t have a blog because I’m not much of a creative writer and my wit tends to manifest itself verbally in the presence of good friends or family and under the influence of at least two if not three beers.  I wanted to start this blog to promote the business venture I started at the beginning of the year, so I’m going to try to stick it out and post once a week or month or maybe eventually never if I get sick of it.  My venture is Retropute, a one man (me) software company that specializes in vintage style games for iOS.  I have had fun the last six months learning how to program apps for the iPhone and iPad, and at this point I’m close to having completed my first real game “Grave Robber”.  “Grave Robber” has been my learning curve project and it has been a rollercoaster of fun and frustration.  It’s a simple ass game that’s not likely to win any awards but I made it with my own two virtual hands so I’m happy and proud of it.  I went to college in the early 90’s to learn computer programing but I didn’t end up using my education to develop software.  I ended up working with industrial control hardware for fifteen plus years where I did receive a good education in fundamentals but didn’t get to flex my creative muscle much.  Retropute is where I finally get to use my tech and creative skills to produce the type of games I like to play.  Will it be a success?  I don’t know.  I’m not a snarky silicon valley millennial who knows it all at age 25 and who feels entitled to succeed because I’m better than everyone else so I might not give birth to the next Facebook or Google, but I do plan to have fun and make some games I think are cool.  If I get my first game on the Apple app store by September I count myself a success and open a bottle of five dollar sparkling wine with my fiancé. So look out for the first Retropute title, and lets hope I’m successful enough to bring some of the other games in my head into reality.

Leave a Reply

